RSS

What’s Up Next

04 May

Unearthed Arcana (1985)

In case anyone was wondering, this blog isn’t dead. I’m just taking things easy for a while. I will, within the month, be reviewing the following:

  • Colony Moon by Postmortem Studios
  • Hyperlite: the Sirius Treaty by Sceaptune Games
  • Savage Worlds Deluxe by PEG
  • Advanced Dungeons & Dragons by TSR

Those last two are really stretching the definition of Indie RPG a little bit, but they do technically fall under the definition of a “creator-owned roleplaying game”. Savage Worlds peaked my interest because it seems to explore a lot of the same ideas that my homebrew does. AD&D, on the other hand, was well before my time, but considering how many indie RPGs harken back to it, I feel it’s a game I really ought to visit in order that I fully understand where the industry is coming from and where it’s going. That I happened to stumble upon a collection of AD&D books in a local charity shop (US English: thrift store) has made this an inexpensive possibility.

I’ve effectively been reading these books through and mulling them over the past couple of weeks. I’ve been trying to concentrate on finishing a sci-fi story I’ve been working on, which is why I’ve put off writing this blog. It is damn time-consuming, these reviews, as much as I enjoy them.

Also, there’s the fact that I have all these games to write about and I don’t know where to start. I know I should write one for Colony Moon first, because it was a gift, but as a story game I really don’t feel I can do it justice until I’ve played it, and these past couple of weeks I’ve not been able to game due to work.

Finally, Hyperlite’s a game that I really enjoy by a writer I’ve known since childhood, but in discussing my thoughts for the review with its creator Tim Bancroft it appears he took serious offence at my one real criticism, which is that a game with such a unique premise requires a more descriptive name than it currently has in order to show people what it’s all about. I decided I’d write the review anyway, not venomously, but because I actually like the game, and it would be disloyal to deprive him of the publicity just because he can’t take criticism well.

Expect to hear something soon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
